Land Acknowledgment

The Hall Center for the Humanities acknowledges its location on the ancestral homelands of several Tribal Nations, including the Kaw, Osage, and Shawnee. The University of Kansas occupies land forcefully ceded in a series of treaties with Tribal Nations. This traditional territory was not a single property with border lines but rather maintained by Tribal peoples as stewards, and we recognize an enduring relationship tying Tribal peoples to the land. That relationship remains embedded in Tribal identities, cultures, and languages. The Hall Center recognizes and supports the sovereignty of all indigenous peoples and communities, including the four federally recognized Tribal Nations present in Kansas today: the Prairie Band Potawatomi, Kickapoo, Sac and Fox, and Iowa.